Business Law

Commercial contracts

In an increasingly open and multi-faceted world, companies are faced with a multiplication of relationships and contracts with their customers, suppliers, distributors, service providers and other partners. In order to draw up an effective contractual scheme adapted to their situation, it is therefore imperative for these companies to take into account the rules applicable to their sector of activity, as well as the commercial practices in place.

The firm assists companies in structuring their distribution networks and in their contractual schemes, in order to ensure that their contracts not only comply with the applicable standards, but also reflect the exact nature of the contractual relationship and the wishes of the parties, while taking into account the specificities of the clients' sector. The firm offers them support from the pre-contractual period to the negotiation and drafting of the contract, and can assist the clients in the event of pre-litigation or litigation. 

The firm works with a wide range of clients, including large industrial and digital companies, start-ups and scale-ups. These clients include wine and liquors producers and intermediaries, large industrial companies, platforms, car manufacturers and importers, and large fashion companies.

The Commercial Contracts team is led by Jean-Philippe Arroyo and Martine Karsenty-Ricard. Jean-Philippe Arroyo is a member of the Executive Committee of the “Association Française d'Etude de la Concurrence” (A.F.E.C) and a member of the International Distribution Institute (I.D.I). The firm is a member of the International Ligue of Competition Law (LIDC).

Ranking Décideurs Magazine 2021 :

The Commercial Contracts team is recognised in numerous rankings for its expertise.
Distribution Law - Excellent
Antitrust - Highly recommended
Franchise Law - Highly recommended
Commercial Litigation - Recommended
IT, software & digital projects - Highly recommended
Internet - Recommended

 

Legal works in this area

  • Drafting of commercial contracts (service contracts, supply and supplier contracts, subcontracting and partnership contracts, manufacturing contracts, confidentiality agreements, research & development contracts, transfer of technology contracts)
  • Drafting of Terms and Conditions (B to B and B to C terms and conditions, general purchase conditions, annual framework agreements)
  • Structuring of distribution networks (project analysis, pre-contractual documents, drafting of selective and exclusive distribution contracts, franchises agreement, commercial agency contract, mandates, brokerage, commissioning, etc.)
  • IT contracts (hosting, maintenance, website and mobile application development contracts, integration contracts, software licences, SaaS contracts, etc.)
  • Commercial litigation (sudden breach of commercial relations, significant imbalance, contractual non-performance, unfair practices, product liability).

Track records

  • Advising a French car importer on the organisation of its selective distribution network
  • Drafting of a contract for the integration of software into an industrial production line in the manufacture of pharmaceutical containers for a Japanese company manufacturing medical equipment
  • Representation of a major American tech company in a dispute over a sudden breach of established commercial relations
  • Advising an intermediary in the wine sector in the context of supply and commercial agent contracts
Share and print
Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter to be informed of our news

Droit de l’activité économique

Contrats commerciaux

Dans un monde de plus en plus ouvert et aux enjeux pluriformes, les entreprises font face à une multiplication des relations et des contrats qui les lient à leurs clients, fournisseurs, distributeurs, prestataires et autres partenaires. Pour élaborer un schéma contractuel efficace et adapté à leur situation, il est donc impératif pour ces entreprises de prendre en compte les règles applicables à leur secteur d’activité, ainsi que les pratiques commerciales en place.

JP Karsenty assiste les acteurs économiques dans la structuration de leurs réseaux de distribution et dans leurs schémas contractuels, afin de s’assurer que leurs contrats soient non seulement respectueux des normes applicables, mais qu’ils reflètent également la nature exacte de la relation contractuelle et les volontés des parties, tout en prenant en compte les spécificités du secteur des clients. Le cabinet leur offre un accompagnement allant de la période précontractuelle, à la négociation et la rédaction du contrat, et pouvant se poursuivre en cas de précontentieux ou de contentieux.

JP Karsenty intervient auprès d’une clientèle variée, impliquant des grandes sociétés industrielles ou du numérique, des start-up débutant leur activité et des scale-up. Il peut s’agir par exemple de producteurs ou intermédiaires dans les domaines viticoles et des spiritueux, de grandes entreprises industrielles, des plateformes de mise en relation, de constructeurs et importateurs automobiles, ou bien encore de grandes entreprises de prêt-à-porter.

L’équipe Contrats commerciaux est animée par Jean-Philippe Arroyo et Martine Karsenty- Ricard. Jean-Philippe Arroyo est membre du Comité de Direction de l’Association Française d’Etude de la Concurrence (A.F.E.C) et membre de l’International Distribution Institute (I.D.I). Le cabinet est membre de la Ligue Internationale du Droit de la Concurrence (L.I.D.C).

Classement Décideurs Magazine 2021 :

L’équipe Contrats commerciaux du cabinet est reconnue dans de nombreux classements pour son expertise.

Droit de la distribution – Excellent
Antitrust – Forte notoriété
Droit de la franchise – Forte notoriété
Contentieux commercial – Pratique réputée
Informatique, software & projets digitaux – Forte notoriété
Droit de l’internet – Pratique réputée

Domaines d’intervention

  • Rédaction de contrats commerciaux (contrats de prestations de services, contrats d’approvisionnement et fournisseurs, contrats de sous-traitance et de partenariat, contrats de fabrication, accords de confidentialité, contrats de recherche & développement, contrats de transfert de technologies)
  • Formalisation de la politique commerciale (conditions générales de vente B to B et B et B to C, conditions générales d’achat, conventions uniques)
  • Structuration des réseaux de distribution (analyse du projet, DIP, rédaction de contrats de distribution sélectifs et exclusifs, contrats de concession, franchises, contrat d’agence commerciale, mandat, courtage, commissionnement, etc.)
  • Contrats informatiques (hébergements, maintenance, contrats de développement de site internet et d’applications mobiles, contrats d’intégration, licences de logiciels, contrats SaaS, etc.)
  • Contentieux commerciaux (rupture brutale des relations commerciales, déséquilibre significatif, inexécution contractuelle, pratiques déloyales, responsabilité du fait des produits).

Interventions récentes

  • Conseil d’un importateur automobile français dans l’organisation de son réseau de distribution sélectif
  • Rédaction d’un contrat d’intégration de logiciels à une ligne de production industrielle dans la fabrication de contenants pharmaceutiques pour une société japonaise de fabrication d’équipements médicaux
  • Représentation d’une société américaine de la tech dans le cadre d’un contentieux pour une rupture brutale des relations commerciales établies
  • Conseil d’un intermédiaire dans le secteur vinicole dans le cadre de contrats de fourniture et d’agents commerciaux
Partager et imprimer
Newsletter

Souscrivez à notre newsletter pour être informé de nos actualités